Liberty Forged

the State has no money of its own, so it has no power of its own. ` Nock

Tap into the anti-establishment market.

Posted by Jesse on December 3, 2007

“I can’t believe the things that have been coming out of my mouth these past few months. If anyone had told me a year ago that today I’d be sending an e-mail to my friends urging them to vote – and to vote Republican – I would have said that person was either nuts or just didn’t know me.”
These are the words of Bretigne Shaffer.
Her article is plainly awesome.
Are you a non-voter?

I found myself mostly identifying with her thoughts on disagreement over specific issues. I think there is a good percentage of voters who may feel similarly.
“Like many of his supporters, I don’t agree with Dr. Paul on all of his positions. We part ways on abortion and immigration. But the issues where we do agree are so important and there is so much at stake that our differences are not an impediment to my support. More importantly – and I believe this is one of the greatest keys to his success – I know that his stance on each issue is the product of his genuinely held beliefs. He does not choose his words based on opinion polls or on the fundraising successes they have earned other candidates, but on his own understanding of what is right and what is wrong. Because of this I have unending respect for the man.”

These people only “exist” on the internet you hear. Well, so be it. Those that are skeptical are only asking for the challenge to be met. Money has been put where the mouse is. All Paul needs is the Nomination and the Office is his. He’d be a shoe-in. This is when the magic happens.

The question with regard to Ron Paul is not whether or not he will keep his campaign promises – he will. The only question is whether he will be able to accomplish what he has set out to. Will he be elected? And if he is, how far will he be able to get on his wish list of dismantling the leviathan state to which we have become so accustomed?
I don’t have answers to either of these questions. And anyone who says they do doesn’t understand what is happening here: The very nature of the game is changing and all because one man has insisted all along on playing it his way.
So maybe I’m wrong. Maybe it is possible to effect positive change toward a more free society through the political process. Ron Paul has proven me wrong once already and he may just do it again.”

Leave a Reply

 
