Liberty Forged

the State has no money of its own, so it has no power of its own. ` Nock

No Child Left Behind: Republicans

Posted by Jesse on December 11, 2007

Source: Ronpaul2008.com

‘No Child Left Behind’ Roll Calls
Ron Paul–Nay*
Fred Thompson–Yea**
John McCain –Yea**
Sam Brownback–Yea**
Sam Brownback–Yea*
Duncan Hunter–Nay*

Mitt Romney’s Record on Homeschooling

Q: You have been criticized for changing your position on some issues. You say that it’s a part of learning from experience. Can you point to an area in which your learning from experience led you to change to a position that is less popular with the Republican base?

A: Sure, quite a few, actually. One is No Child Left Behind. I’ve taken a position where, once upon a time, I said I wanted to eliminate the Department of Education. That was my position when I ran for Senate in 1994. That’s very popular with the base. As I’ve been a governor and seen the impact that the federal government can have holding down the interest of the teachers’ unions and instead putting the interests of the kids and the parents and the teachers first, I see that the Department of Education can actually make a difference. So I supported No Child Left Behind. I still do. I know there are a lot in my party that don’t like it, but I like testing in our schools. I think it allows us to get better schools

Source: 2007 Republican Debate in South Carolina May 15, 2007

Huckabee Backs No Child Left Behind
April 30th, 2007

In his latest presidential campaign video, former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee (R) defended the No Child Left Behind Act by making a distinction between federal and state governments’ role in education.

“The federal No Child Left Behind Act is often misunderstood and unfairly maligned as a total federal intrusion,” Huckabee said. “As long as the states are allowed to develop their own benchmark exams to determine the manner to create standards … there’s a value of having a national effort to at least set high standards.”

Leave a Reply

 
