Liberty Forged

the State has no money of its own, so it has no power of its own. ` Nock

End the Occupation Report Card: Kucinich/Paul get an A+

Posted by Jesse on January 4, 2009

Report Card for 110th Congress, 2007-2008

But the american people already knew that didn’t they?

I didn’t vote. Why would I? The candidate I supported wasn’t going to win. And of course Barack Obama was going to win. And I have no reason to vote for McCain. What reason would there be to vote against someone? I don’t like pork, so I’ll buy chicken? Yeah. Try again you voter lobbyists. I know you will even if I ask you not to.

Hmm. Reminds me of those telemarketers. Must work. They spend a hell of of a lot of time doing it. Goes to show. Too bad. When it comes to voting people aren’t left with a choice. And it seems there’s no accountability. Just look at Bush/Cheney for the easiest evidence. At least with telemarketing you can just hang up. And if you do decide to buy their gimmicks… it’s your own damn fault. Oh that’s right, the free market fails because of evil profits through voluntarism. The appropriate ‘way’ is through threat of jail or violence. That’s a true guarantor of (e)quality control.

Anyway, back to Gaza. I’ve heard a lot of backlash against Israel. I wonder where this is all heading? My thoughts still lie with the US, as this is the nation I live in and actually feel somewhat responsible for. Israel is not my home, Hamas is not my representative. I can condemn the acts, but legally what can I do? What can I do in my own country that would make a difference? Unfortunately, not much. The system I am forced to comply with doesn’t provide any easy or cheap relief. Just try standing against any local issue. Consider the common traffic ticket. It’s a lot cheaper and less time consuming than trying to fight it. That’s why people don’t do it more often. Now take that same logic and place it in the realm of national politics. Waaaayyyy beyond your town or county politics. Good luck. That’s why people lobby. That’s DC times a trillion (or is it a 100 trillion?) Sell your political power to the highest bidder or your favorite cause and start your own political gang. Protect your turf and don’t let anyone threaten the game.

Obviously it is not a job for one person. If there is any type of consensus against US foreign policy, and the US’s role as it relates to Palestine in particular…it is not reflected by most of our political representatives or the corporate media. And that is a very depressing scenario.

Leave a Reply

 
